Cross Country All CIF  (CIF Southern Section and CIF State)

Coaching StaffStaff.htmlshapeimage_8_link_0

The Pre-Qualifying Era:  From 1925 up until 1945 the CIF Southern Section (at inception known as the Southern California Championship) was divided into Large, Medium and/or Small School Divisions.  Cross Country was designated as a “minor” sport.  During the pre-1960’s era one did not need to qualify for CIF let alone there being CIF preliminary heats.  It was basically an invitational that any team could enter without qualification, and many teams in the southland in fact did not enter the competition, as there was only about 10 to 15 schools that entered the race.  The Qualifying Era:  In 1962 the CIF Section went to A, AA and AAA Divisions, with preliminary heats in each division to accommodate the boom in distance running in California.  Races were anywhere from 1.7 to 2.0 miles.  The distance running boom was evident when in 1965 the CIF added the 2 mile event in track, the mile being the longest distance prior to that time.  In 1972 the field expanded to A, AA, AAA and AAAA Divisions.  In 1977 the races were lengthened to 3 miles.  Divisions were changed to 1A, 2A, 3A and 4A, and today we have Divisions I, II, III, IV and V.   Beverly is currently in Division III.  Prior to 1987 there was no CIF State Meet.  [Except there was a West Regional/Nationals from 1958 to the present].  Competitors that finished in the top 10 in the past prior to 1987, as seen below, would have qualified for State under today’s standards and are recognized as ALL CIF STATE.

All CIF State:


The Pre-Qualifying Era:

Walter Porter                 1935

Les Hilliard                     1935

Melville Barry                 1936

Egon Kafka                    1938-1939

Bob Holland                   1939

Sterry Fagan                  1942

Jim Berger                     1948

The Qualifying Era:

Simon Langer                1969

Eli Flesch                        2012 (28th place)

Chanan Batra                 2012 (45th place)

Aaron Wolfe                    2012 (57th place)

Sean McAlister                2012 (126th place)

Michael Redston             2012 (140th place)

Sebastien Vericella         2012 (141st place)

Aaron Karlin                    2012 (147th place)


2012 Boys: 12th place


Sydney Segal                 2011 (6th place)

Brianna Simmons           2011 (8th place)

Sydney Segal                 2012 (1st place)  State Champion

Links to Boys and Girls All CIF Southern Section is set forth below:

                BOYS                                                                                                         GIRLS

TF RecordsTF_Records.htmlshapeimage_9_link_0
TF All Time ListsTF_All_Time.htmlshapeimage_10_link_0
TF All LeagueTF_All_League.htmlshapeimage_11_link_0
TF All CifTF_All_CIF.htmlshapeimage_12_link_0
TF All StateTF_All_State.htmlshapeimage_13_link_0
TF All AmericansTF_All_Americans.htmlshapeimage_14_link_0
XC All Time ListsXC_All_Time_Lists.htmlshapeimage_15_link_0
XC All LeagueXC_All_League.htmlshapeimage_16_link_0
XC All Cif/Stateshapeimage_17_link_0
XC All AmericansXC_All_Americans.htmlshapeimage_18_link_0